jump to navigation

Harvard and the New Direction of Higher-Ed Curriculum December 15, 2006

Posted by moverstreet in Campus, Church, Culture/Society, World News.
trackback

Harvard University has decided to drop a controversial proposal that would require undergraduates to study religion as a part of a 30-year currculum revision.  In this article (here), CNN picks up the Reuters’ post concerning the recent decision.
This curricular tack should come as no surprise, but you should be aware of the changes.  Why?  Because IVY League institutions generally chart the course for the nation’s universities–public and private.  Harvard’s influence is easily seen and difficult to measure.

The article explains, “Harvard professor Louis Menand, who co-chaired the committee that drafted the plan, said religion competed with other, equally valid subjects. “It is an important subject, but nationalism is an important subject, and race is an important subject and markets is an important subject,” said Menand.

From a dean’s perspective (Covenant Theological Seminary), read another take (here).

Comments»

1. Khuong Nguyen - February 21, 2007

i want to looking for all the Vietnamese student are study or graduate from Havard University.

2. kim tan - April 28, 2007

religion is the best religion.. so its better to heve 1st the abwt the religion subject…

3. Lilian Cheng - June 28, 2007

ahm…i want to study in harvard but i dont think i can go there!!!

4. green - July 24, 2007

i love vietnam

5. france - November 26, 2007

please kindly send the requirements involving the enrollment procedure at the Harvard School of law. Thank you

6. france - November 26, 2007

how could i get a scholarship grant from Harvard?

7. tryana indonesia - January 3, 2008

i have a same desire like a person in number 6

8. Nurillo - February 12, 2008

Hello,everybody!My name is Nurillo,I’m 16.I’m from Uzbekistan.I’m a pupil at academic lyceum under the University of World Economy and Diplomacy(UWED).After graduating the lyceum I want to enter the Harvard University but I haven’t got enough information about this university,so couldn’t you send information about it?Thank you very much.

Nurillo
E-mail:nurik-uwed@land.ru

9. Nurillo - February 12, 2008

How could i get a scholarship from Harvard?

10. Donny - February 26, 2008

what is a harvard? Is it where they make that special cheese? How can i get some information for this?

11. umi - March 18, 2008

I want to go harvard

12. nancy singh - March 21, 2008

i want to go and study in harvard university because it is my first and last dream

13. nancy - March 21, 2008

hi everyone! I am NANCY from INDIA.wish every viewer a good luck for their future………..your dreams will come true because dreams are made to come true………………

14. Jacques Frigo - March 31, 2008

I want to study in Harvard university too!! It looks like fun to me! it’s kind of funny and very exciting too! I think it will be a great laugh! Harvard here we coming too! Greetz.

Dans l’attente de votre reponse, je vous prie d’agreer, Madame, Monsieur, l’expression de mes salutations distinguees.

15. jessie - April 12, 2008

hello, i want to ask if anybody ( i mean international student) that have been study at Harvard University, i mean, i am international student, i really want to study at Hardvard and i really need help from those who have been throught alot of thing before goes to harvard. and i really need advice from y’all!
please help me!
please contact me by : jessie_metoer@yahoo.com
thank you very much!

JULIO - March 16, 2010

hi my name is Julius i`m from brazil and I lived in Boston near from havard was coll

16. george - November 6, 2008

hi yall!! i wanna goe ta har vard!! te he!

17. Destinee Barron - April 29, 2009

My name is Destinee and im 15 and i really want to go to Harvard!
It has been my dream since i was little,
and i really want to go!!!

18. leslie arsalem - August 1, 2009

hello
my name is leslie arsalem from phillipines,,
hello to all student of harvard university
i want to go in harvard university because that,s my dream
i wish my dream come true,,,,
tnx
god blees

19. Lenny Alone Souza - February 25, 2010

Hi..I am from Brazil and I loved study in Havard, I am 20 years old I finished now my graduate IN bRAZIL AND I LOVE inter in Havard University….

20. Rispher j chepkwony - February 15, 2012

A nic place 2 b

21. Rizzie jepkirui - February 15, 2012

Am rizzie n would like 2 study in harvard how will I get the scholarship coz for me harvard is the best place 2 be


Leave a Reply

